Kayakkev

The Boobie (part 2 it has started)

In Boobie, kayak, Wood Kayak on June 28, 2010 at 12:54 am

 8/31/10  Not much more is done, started anchoring the forms inline on the strongback.  In the pics, the ones that have tape on them are set, but it is going well.  Now I am going camping/kayaking for a week, but stay tuned, I shall return.

08/29/10  As promised here are the pics of the start.  Here you see the clamp holes on the bow form

The stern form placed in the strong back

and the form sitting on the strong back

So before I can start stripping, I have to secure the forms in line and tape the edges.

08/28/10  GOOD LORD!!!  Where has the time gone???  I actually worked on the Boobie a little today.  I drilled all my clamp holes in the Bow & Stern forms, cut out the centers for the strong back, and started placing the forms.  I will show pics soon I promise.  I had to quit working on it so I could go play today.

06/28/10  Well I now have all my forms printed out and glued to some 1/2″ plywood I pulled from the dumpster at work.  And tonight I started cutting out forms.

I have a few design ideas, but once again I am building this yak at little to no cost to me.  I have decided to work the deck first on this one so that I can do it with out staples, keeping it clean.  And then I will use staples for ease of construction on the hull.  Most of the wood is going to be Mahogany and White Cedar because that is what I have the most of.  So stay tuned to see how this yak turns out.

Leave a Reply

