Kayakkev

The Boobie (part 1, the concept)

In Boobie, Wood Kayak on January 19, 2010 at 11:57 pm

Well, after lurking on the Blue Heron Forum for a couple of years now.  I have watched many design their own kayak with free software that Ross Leidy (site admin) offers on his site.  So I decided to give it a go and with help from others that know more than I, have come up with a design for my next yak.

I have already named it my “Boobie”.  Now I know that name could have a lot of different meanings, but this one has to do with a veneer inlay I found on Ebay of the bird called a Blue Footed Boobie.

This will also be the smallest yak I have made to date at 15-7, and designed to use on the rivers around this great state of Florida.  As of now because of the wood I have on hand the hull will be made of mostly Mahogany with cedar highlights, and the deck will be made of White Cedar with Mahogany highlights and this wonderful inlay.

And even though I am not even half way done with my Spring Run I am already looking at my next boat.  Building yaks is very addicting.  And I am very excited about the fact it is one I have designed myself.  Hopefully by the summer of 2010 you will see this yak take shape.

Leave a Reply

