Kayakkev

Redfish King (part 4 glassing)

In Redfish King, Wood Kayak on June 28, 2009 at 12:39 am

07/01/09  Well, it is offical, this is now a Kayak!!! And this next pic is for daydreaming of seeing it on the water soon, what a nice view

DSCF2625

 Today I worked on the outside seam Port side.  I laid out the tape

DSCF2623

Now you see it….

DSCF2624

Now you dont…

DSCF2627

Okay, almost don’t.  This too will disapear with more coats of epoxy

DSCF2628

06/30/09  Today was more of yesterday, just the other side.  You will see that I had to use more band clamps than tape to hold the second side

DSCF2621

DSCF2622

06/29/09  After taping the two halves together, and adding a few band clamps, I started taping the inside seam with fiberglass and epoxy.

DSCF2614

DSCF2615

And in keeping with tradition, I now have epoxy in my hair.  I used a scap stick to push the tape up into the bow and stern, and then taped a brush to another to be able to reach up there and smooth the tape down and add the epoxy that was needed.

inside smoothing brush

inside smoothing brush

DSCF2618

This evening I added my secont coat of epoxy, worked on handles, epoxied the clips on the hatch covers, and filed down the deck recesses that I could reach

 

06/15/09  Okay, besides cutting the deck and fitting the combing, I glassed the thigh braces and plywood that I am going to use for the hatch rims, and bulkheads

DSCF2587

DSCF2589

DSCF2590

The sheet that is only half done has the hatch paterns on the other side, and being a pattern to cut the rims and openings, I saw no reason to waste the glass cloth or epoxy.

06/09/09  Okay, I am sorry for not posting for awhile, but busy, busy, busy.  It is that time of year.  I have managed to pick up a couple of kayak repair jobs, and even a couple of construction jobs, plus the weather is perfect for paddling.  And inbetween all of this, I have even managed to work on the yak, just not taking pics or posting about it.  So tonight while waiting on epoxy to cure I will try and catch up.

I puttied the inside of both the deck and hull, and then sanded it all down.  And filled in the stems with my fillets using wood flour, cab-o-sil, and epoxy.

DSCF2576

then I laid the glass cloth on the underside of the deck, adding a triple layer at the rear of the cockpit recess where it gets the most stress getting in and out of the yak, and with help we epoxied it in

DSCF2578

Then it was time to do the hull.  Adding extra glass in the center which I always put the reinforcing under the full sheet and wet both out at the same time.  I found it makes for a much cleaner job without leaving stings everywhere.

DSCF2577

DSCF2579

 Then I got the hull all epoxied in.Doing the fillets on the stems made the glass lay down much easier, and even if they are not very pretty, you will not see them unless you climb in the hatches. LOL

DSCF2580

DSCF2581

DSCF2582

Coming next week!    after the 3-4 coats of epoxy will be to install the combing…

06/01/09  Today I got two more fill coats on the deck and it will be ready to split and remove the forms soon.

DSCF2572

DSCF2573

And now that the epoxy is dry, it is time to split the halves and discard the skeleton

IMG_0104

IMG_0105

IMG_0103

5/31/09  Today I epoxied the first layer of glass on the deck, installing the graphic as well.  Just one coat so far…

DSCF2563

DSCF2565

5/20/09 In the following pics you will see the 4 oz glass laid out on the hull.  If you look close, you can see where the fabric has been doubled on the stems and the cockpit area.

DSCF2524

DSCF2525

Next you will see how far the first mixed batch about 6 oz.  or 16 pumps of resin and hardner will go.  The doubled glass fabric really takes a lot more epoxy than a single layer.

DSCF2526

And my combing table makes a good mixing table as well

DSCF2527

The following pics show the colors of the hull after the first coat of epoxy

DSCF2530

DSCF2529

And with the second fill coat

DSCF2532

DSCF2534

  1. Hi Kev,

    Looks like you’re doing very nice work! Good luck with the build!

    Wes

Leave a Reply

