Kayakkev

My Guillemot L (part 3 trimming it out)

In Guillemot L, Wood Kayak on April 13, 2009 at 1:06 am

04/12/09 For those of you following my progress, you know that I am trying to move out of the shop I was using and into my garage.  Well, to day I am completely moved out.  I just unloaded the “Seahorse” in my garage ready to trim out with skeg handle, seat, deck lines, hatch straps, etc…

dscf2409

She looks good almost completed sitting under the “King” that is just started.

dscf2411

Once this yak is finished I will be devoting my time to the King, and it should go quickly.  Luckily work is starting to pick up a little so I wont have 8 hour days on it, but I will do something everyday now it is at my house.

It Is Done!

04/14/09  I finished the “SeaHorse” today while it was storming outside.  The following pics are of some of the details I did on this yak.  Tomorrow evening will be the “Virgin Float” and turning it over to it’s rightful owner.  It is like watching one of your kids leave home.  You know it will happen, but it still is hard to give up. LOL

Artwork

dscf2424

dscf2425

dscf2429

dscf2432

The Handles (homemade), recess fittings, deck line

dscf2412

dscf2417

dscf2422

dscf2423

dscf2428

dscf2431

dscf2421

dscf24161

dscf2414

Seat and foam padding.  The back is from Necky, and the seat is CLC with an added pad

dscf2415

dscf2420

dscf2419

 

04/14/09  Here it is on my truck getting ready for it’s maiden voyage.  I hope to have lots of pics of it on the water later tonight.  Notice the Redfish King I am starting in front of it.

dscf24352

Peggy, I hope you like this yak.  A lot of Heart & Soul went into this one.

  1. Thats better!

  2. why does my comment picture look like I am in distress?? who choose that picture??

  3. I love the yak!!!

Leave a Reply

