Kayakkev

Redfish King (part 1 getting ready)

In Redfish King, Wood Kayak on April 9, 2009 at 4:08 am

04/09/09 While I was away kayaking a revelation hit me.  I strung the forms wrong.  For some reason my yak was coming out 8 inches longer than it was suppose to be.  Well DUH!!!  16 forms each form being 1/2 inch thick, my measurements should be from face to face, not between.  Luckily they are screwed on so I can move them and trim the strong back down.

04/03/09 I made the strongback and mounted the forms to it.  Then I taped the edges to keep the glue from building from sticking to the forms.  The spacing of the forms was a little different on this yak, it was not consistent spacing.  But then this is not your common yak.  It is nice to see the lines of this yak take shape, I know one thing for sure… my fat butt will never fit in it!

dscf2392

The internal stem strips are made and clamped to the end forms awaiting to be screwed down when the glue dries.  Then I will have to glue up the external stems before mounting the ends on to the strongback.

dscf2390

I’m starting it now!!!

04/02/09 I dug out the forms and laid out and cut out for the strong back.  Hey, It’s a start.

dscf2385

dscf2387

03/05/09 Today I went and picked up the padauk I needed to do the job, and while I was there at a wood wholesaler, I picked up the plywood for the strongback and bulkheads, and hatch rims.  All of the strips are piled up and ready to start

dscf2374

02/25/09 Kevin’s wood arrived today, we are getting ready to start.  If you would like to see the specs of this fine craft, just click on this link http://www.redfishkayak.com/king.htm .

My plans have changed, and my next build is for a young man in the great state of Tennessee.  He has chosen a Redfish King as the yak he most wants, and I have received the plans, and forms.  The wood strips of cedar and padauk should be delivered tomorrow.  He has sent the design that he wants and I am looking forward to making this fine yak!  I have never even paddled a fish form yak, let alone made one, so this should be interesting.  His design ideas are very simple, but yet extremely elegant.  This should be one fine kayak when it is done.

king

  1. Great site this kayakkev.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

  2. You GO KayakKev, You kayak building fool you! Just wanted to say hi and let you know I DO CHECK THE SITE! Good luck on your newest build my boy. Remember to lay those strips straight, and resin light, oh thats right your the Yak builder- I’m just a paddler!!

    Luv Ya, PePpErBuTt.

Leave a Reply

